The Wider World

16 states sue to block emergency plan

SIXTEEN states – led by California – are suing in federal court to block President Donald Trump’s declaration of a national emergency in order to fund the construction of a wall on the U.S.-Mexico border (Shutterstock).

Sixteen states – including California – are joining in a lawsuit challenging President Donald Trump’s plan to declare a national emergency in order to provide funding for a wall along the U.S.-Mexico border.

Led by California Attorney General Xavier Becerra, the states filed the lawsuit Monday in the U.S. District Court for Northern California.

Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon and Virginia are backing California in the lawsuit, alleging the declaration to be unconstitutional.

Other lawsuits – including one from the American Civil Liberties Union – are expected.

The national emergency plan would pull $2.5 million from military funding to fight trading in illegal narcotics traffic and $3.6 billion in military construction.

Congress can block a national emergency declaration, but the president can veto that. It takes a two-thirds majority of both houses to override a presidential veto.




Leave a Reply