Politics & Elections

A rush of new local candidates

DOZENS of people have taken out nomination papers to run for local offices (Pexels).

One week into the nomination process for candidates running for local city council, school board seats and other local offices, the list is growing.

What follows is the rundown as available as of this writing on Tuesday. We’ll be updating throughout the week. Candidates have until Aug. 7 to return completed nomination petitions to the Orange County Registar of Voters. If an incumbent doesn’t run for re-election, the nomination period is extended to Aug. 12, for non-incumbents only. Incumbents are marked with an *.

Candidates for other Orange County offices may be found at http://www.ocvote.com .  Find the candidate filing log for details. City candidates are generally the responsibility of the various city clerk’s offices.

Garden Grove Mayor and City Council

  • Mayor: Steve Jones.*
  • Mayor: Don Taylor.
  • City Council District 2: John O’Neill.*
  • City Council District 2: Julie Chau Diep.
  • City Council District 5: Stephanie Klopfenstein.*
  • City Council District 6: Kim Nguyen.*

Huntington Beach City Council

  • Patrick W. Brenden.*
  • Brian Burley.
  • Sonya Green.
  • Amory Hanson.
  • Matthew Harper.
  • Dan Kalmick.
  • Thomas M. LaParne.
  • Jeff L. Morin.
  • Natalie Moser.
  • William “Billy” O’Connell.
  • Oscar D. Rodriguez.
  • Lyn Semeta.*
  • Shaz Umer.

Huntington Beach City Clerk

  • Robin Estanislau.*

Huntington Beach City Treasurer

  • Alisa Backstrom.*

Stanton City Council

  • City Council District 2: DeWayne Allen Normand.
  • City Council District 2: Hong Alyce Van.*
  • City Council District 4: Carol Warren.*

Westminster City Council

  • City Council District 2: Namquan Nguyen.
  • City Council District 2: Troung Ta.
  • City Council District 3: Tai Do.*

Garden Grove Unified School District

  • Board member, Area 1: Adam Degner.
  • Board member, Area 1: Nicholas Dibs.
  • Board member, Area 3: Walter Muneton.*

Huntington Beach Union High School District

  • Susan Henry.*
  • Michael Simmons.*
  • Christine Hernandez.
  • Dan Ma.

Ocean View School District

  • Norm Westwell.*
  • Gina Clayton-Tarvin.*

Westminster School District

  • Board member District 1: Frances Nguyen.
  • Board member District 4: Jamison Power.




Leave a Reply